Working with SKETCHMARKER liners

Irina Bautina - artist, illustrator

Instagram - https://www.instagram.com/irina.bautina/

4A572F0F-9253-45D3-A143-7433F26C9062.JPG (270 KB)

  • These liners are sold in the set, which consists of 6 pieces with the nib sizes ranging from 0.05 to 0, 7 mm (0.05, 0.1, 0.2, 0.3, 0.5, and 0.7). They are available in a cardboard B/W box. Unfortunately, the box is not suitable for the long-term use/transportation of the liners - the cardboard is too thin.

  • Design. The b/w body, smooth plastic, the cap with the clip, almost weightless. Thanks to these features, the liners become an indispensable companion during plein air drawing. The liners can be attached to the cover of a sketchbook with the clip and they will not turn a walk into an unpleasant event because of their extra weight. The brand name can be easily read on the body, and in the black circle, closer to the tip of the liner, the size of the nib is indicated. There is also a brief description of the liner's technical characteristics: water-based/pigment ink/acid-free/lightfast/non-bleeding/waterproof, and a warning not to leave the liner without a cap for a long time.

  • Experiment. I decided to make sure that the manufacturer's specifications are true to life: whether the ink dries quickly, bleeds through the sheets and is really waterproof.

  • During the first part of my experiment, I used two liners with the nib sizes 0.7 and 0.05. I coloured a small area, placing the strokes as close to each other as possible, recorded the time and touched the drawing with my finger.

  • The result: a thicker liner takes more time to dry out. Only after about 15 seconds the drawing is not smudged. If you apply a light shade of the marker immediately after you have used the 0.7-thick liner, you get a grey spot. The liner with the thin nib needs much less time to dry out. You can confidently take a marker or watercolours after 3-5 seconds.

  • One of the characteristics mentioned on the body is "non-bleeding", which means that the ink will not bleed through the sheet. Doesn’t matter how hard I tried, the ink didn’t seep through. The only thing I noticed was that the black contour of the liner is visible through the thin paper.

  • In conclusion, I would like to say that this set of liners is indispensable if you like graphics or if you prefer to combine different materials in your work. They are ideal for alcohol-based markers and watercolours.

36D2D87D-8E6B-4D83-8813-5369F3CFC425.JPG (204 KB)

DFC48E96-A461-4A4A-98FE-E97D105503CE.JPG (429 KB)

Discussion

Authorize, to participate in the discussion

Related articles and videos

Работа с лайнерами SKETCHMARKER

Ирина Баутина - художник, иллюстратор

Аккаунт в инстаграм - https://www.instagram.com/irina.bautina/

4A572F0F-9253-45D3-A143-7433F26C9062.JPG (270 KB)

  • Лайнеры продаются набором из 6 штук и имеют разные толщины пера от 0,05 до 0, 7 мм (0,05, 0,1, 0,2, 0,3, 0,5, 0,7). Выпускаются в картонной ч/б коробке. К сожалению, коробка не предназначена для последующего использования/транспортировке лайнеров – слишком тонкий картон.

  • Дизайн. Черно-белые лайнеры, гладкий корпус с прищепкой, практически невесомые. Благодаря этим особенностям, лайнеры становятся незаменимыми спутниками во время пленэров. Лайнеры можно закрепить на обложке скетчбука при помощи прищепки на колпачке и они не превратят прогулку в неприятное событие из-за лишнего веса. На корпусе легко читается название бренда и в черном круге, ближе к краю лайнера, обозначение толщины стержня. Кроме того, на корпусе есть краткое описание технических характеристик лайнера: water-based/pigment ink/acid-free/lightfast/non-bleeding/waterproof, а также предупреждение не оставлять лайнер без колпачка на долгое время.

  • Эксперимент. Я решила удостовериться в заявленных производителем характеристиках: быстро ли высыхают чернила, протекают ли они, размываются водой или действительно являются водостойкими.

  • Во время первой части моего эксперимента я использовала два лайнера с толщинами наконечников 0,7 и 0,05. Я штриховала небольшой участок, располагая штрихи как можно ближе друг к другу, засекала время и проводила пальцем по штриховке.

  • Результат: Более толстому лайнеру требуется больше времени для высыхания. Только приблизительно через 15 секунд штриховка не размазалась и сохранила свои очертания. Если использовать светлый маркер сразу же после того, как вы нанесли контур лайнером с толщиной 0,7, то получается некрасивое серое пятно. Лайнеру с тонким наконечником потребовалось гораздо меньше времени до полного высыхания. Уже спустя 3-5 секунд можно смело брать в руки маркер или акварель.

  • Одной из характеристик, указанных на корпусе, является «non-bleeding», означающая, что чернила лайнера не отпечатаются на следующей странице. Как бы я не старалась, я не смогла добиться этого эффекта. Чернила действительно не протекают сквозь лист. Единственное, что я заметила – это то, что на тонкой бумаге просвечивается черный контур лайнера.

  • В заключение, я хочу сказать, что этот набор лайнеров является незаменимым, если вы любите графику или же предпочитаете сочетать разные материалы в своих работах. Они отлично взаимодействуют с маркерами и акварелью.

36D2D87D-8E6B-4D83-8813-5369F3CFC425.JPG (204 KB)

DFC48E96-A461-4A4A-98FE-E97D105503CE.JPG (429 KB)

Обсуждение

Авторизуйтесь, чтобы принять участие в обсуждении

Похожие статьи и видео